My.FresnoArts.net

Local Social Network for the Arts Community in Central Valley

If you reply to this top entry, your introduction will be added to the bottom of the list.

If you want to reply to someone's introduction, instead, use the reply feature directly under that person's post.

Views: 22

Replies to This Discussion

I thought I'd start out, as coherently as I can, early as it is.

I was introduced to clay in grade school and kept coming back to it up through high school and college years. I didn't think I was an artist, however, so I always felt good work was just serendipity or "luck." In my early thirties, I found myself at CSUF, back in clay, and began to realize it was not luck. Besides ceramic classes, I took something like a senior seminar--glaze composition, made my own wedging table, molds, etc.

In the intervening years, I didn't have a kiln at home, so I kept going with polymer clays, until I could get the wiring done and acquire some equipment. (My poly brooches used to be available at two venues in the Tower, during the early nineties.) I've now got two electric kilns and a small electric porcelain kiln (my test kiln).

I like working with self-slip for color--slip made from the same body as the clay I'm working and colored with oxides or mason stains, as well as mixes of clays used as slip. I spent some time in theater tech during my first two years of college, so I really enjoy creating faux surfaces. Archeology and historical objects, from a variety of cultures, also influence.

Initially, I was making pendants and handbuilt beads but friends kept saying, "You should make tiles!" I finally started making tiles and now they say, "You should make beads!" It makes me laugh.

I'm making tile sets and jewelry now, firing to 03, or 5, depending on the purpose of the finished item and materials. I most often use porcelain and a dark basaltic (Cassius Clay, if you're familiar...).